Planning & Zoning Commission

Cars on Road With Trees

Regular Meetings

  • 6:30 p.m.
  • 4th Tuesday of every month
  • City Council Chambers
    Hopkins City Hall
    1010 1st Street S
    Hopkins, MN 55343

Meeting Broadcasts & Webcasts

Planning and Zoning Commission meetings can be watched live or on-demand online. Replays can also be seen on Cable Channel 16 on Fridays at 1 p.m.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


  • James Green 
    First term expires: June 30, 2024
  • Travis Fauchald
    First term expires: June 30, 2025
  • Diane Ilstrup
    First term expires: June 30, 2025
  • Abyan Nur
    First term expires: June 30, 2024
  • Whitney Terrill, Vice Chairperson
    First term expires: June 30, 2024
  • Andrew Wright, Chairperson
    Second term expires: June 30, 2025


The Planning and Zoning Commission is designed to serve in an advisory capacity to the City Council and administration and is empowered to perform certain quasi-judicial functions. There are seven members on the Commission. Each Commissioner serves a two-year term and can be reappointed for another two-year term.


The objectives of the Commission are:

  • To guide future development of land, services and facilities.
  • To ensure a safer, more pleasant and more economical environment for residential, commercial, industrial and public activities.
  • To promote the public health, safety, morals and general welfare of the entire City, including the aesthetic, social, economic, physical and environmental quality in the context of the metropolitan community.